Days 8-11

So it’s been a crazy busy weekend, obviously. Not to mention my desire to stay on Whole30 is still wavering, but I’ve stuck to it. So a brief recap:

Day 8 (June 7, 2013)

I spent basically all day working on my dissertation, which was really draining. I had to also do some grocery shopping, so I picked up something that would hopefully be easy and delicious for dinner. I wanted to make barbecue ribs recipe I’d seen, but unfortunately, Whole Foods had very few meat selections, so I had to get a grass fed chuck roast instead. I also picked up some ground beef, so I had another hamburger patty with veggies and fruit for lunch. Then I put the roast in the crockpot to be cooking while I slaved away with my writing. I’m not even going to bother posting the recipe because it sucked. I ate the meat because I didn’t want to waste it, but the seasoning was just not good. I really missed the cream of mushroom I normally add. :/ So yeah, another day of boring, unexciting food.

Day 9 (June 8, 2013)

So this was the day I was planning to be at a festival/concert all day long. I had my egg breakfast with strawberries and blueberries for breakfast before heading out the door. I packed some grapes and macadamias to snack on throughout the day to keep my energy up. For lunch, Mark was awesome and brought me another Chipotle salad. Unfortunately, there were absolutely no food options at this festival. There were three food trucks, one serving pizza, one in which everything contained beans and sweet potatoes (beans aren’t Whole30; I hate sweet potatoes), and one that was so junky I can’t even remember what it was. Oh, and a cheesecake stand. Good grief. So I snacked on some grapes and had the macadamias, hoping that would hold me over. One thing that I’ve noticed is that my blood sugar does not drop the way that it did even a couple of weeks ago. I fully expected to get shaky, as I was going to be there past 11 and I had lunch at 1:30, but I didn’t. I felt a little weak, but otherwise, I managed. I think I used to eat crap (like cheesecake) and justify it as the only way to keep my blood sugar up, but this has really helped with that. After the show, Mark and I went to a restaurant that serves fresh and local burgers, fries, and ice cream. I had been wanting to try this place for awhile (of course I wanted to try one of the “adult milkshakes”…), and I knew they would have something for me to eat, plus they’re open until 1 am, hooray! We ended up splitting two dishes: grass fed hot dogs served with relish, sauerkraut, mustard, and fries, and a southwest burger that was made of grass fed beef and had jalapenos, green chiles, and some other spicy stuff on it. I of course left the buns off of both and had to (sadly) take the cheese off of the burger, but they were delicious! A little overdone, probably because it was past midnight and the cooks assumed we were drunk, but overall very tasty. I might have tasted a couple of fries juuusstt to make sure they were good for Mark…. 😉 But they also were a little overdone and I didn’t eat them anyway or pig out or anything like that, so I think that was a success. I can’t wait to go back there at a normal hour and on a normal diet so that I can really get the full effect of this place, but it was nice to have as a late-night option! I also drank a crap ton of water this day.

Day 10 (June 9, 2013)

I am really starting to get in a food rut. Had my eggs for breakfast again. Mark and I took another Sunday stroll through the Botanical Gardens, which was cut short due to an incoming storm. We both had a ton of work to get done after that; I had a deadline that I had to meet for my dissertation and he had a lot of studying; thus, we made the decision to once again go to Chipotle. So, I had another salad. We got it to go, so I added a little bit of hot TJ’s salsa on top of it, since they tend to skimp on the hot salsa at the restaurant. For dinner, I made “spaghetti” and meatballs using this recipe. After getting the meatballs in the oven, I made the noodles with both zucchini and squash, just to see how the squash did. I wouldn’t recommend the squash noodles – they’re more difficult to make because of all of the seeds and it’s just a little more mushy. I sauteed the noodles in olive oil. I also chopped up the rest of the red onion, green bell pepper, squash, zucchini, and garlic and threw all of that in with diced and crushed tomatoes to make my sauce. Once the meatballs were cooked, I tossed them in with the sauce for a couple of minutes and then served over the noodles.

It was pretty tasty and loaded with veggies. I think Mark & I were both pretty satisfied.

Day 11 (June 10, 2013)

And today I was right back to having zero appetite for anything Whole30. We had to go apartment hunting this morning, so I didn’t have time to make eggs and ended up having a pink lady apple for breakfast. Not sufficient, but that is how it goes sometimes. I had the leftovers from dinner last night for lunch, and I have to say, I was absolutely not excited (not even a little) to be eating them. They were just fine last night, but the thought of having to eat it again just disgusted me. I ended up picking around it and just eating the meatballs and the sauce. For some reason the noodles were not appealing to me. I also finished that with some grapes. I was pretty bummed out and back to thinking that this is just not the thing for me, particularly because I don’t seem to be getting enough nutrition with this loss of appetite. I’ve also had very low energy today and have had stomach cramps for the past few days. Not to mention, I got a new zit the other day. 😦 Thus, nothing seems to be working out the way it’s supposed to, which is even more discouraging. For dinner, I decided to do chicken fingers with snow peas and broccoli. For the almond meal, I ground up raw almonds using my food processor and saved the leftovers to use another time. These chicken finger smelled absolutely divine while they were cooking – I was actually excited to eat them. I sauteed the snow peas in coconut oil for just a few minutes and steamed the broccoli, seasoning with a bit of olive oil, salt, garlic, and pepper. The dinner was pretty satisfying – next time I will only cook the chicken for 25 minutes instead of 30, as it was getting close to the dry side. I did wish I could mix up some mustard and honey, but I managed OK. The paprika and cumin added just a hint of spicy kick to them, which was good. I plan to have the leftover chicken tomorrow on a salad. Maybe I’ll try to find a mustard vinaigrette dressing of sorts to go with it.

Overall, I’m still bored and not feeling great or having boundless energy. I have second thoughts about this diet every other second, but I’m still sticking to it for now.

Leave a Reply

