Day 3

This morning I woke up feeling so much better than I did the day before, which I was very thankful for. I was still a little nauseous, but I think I might also be sick from things other than adjusting to the diet. I took some Zofran and then had my usual breakfast, made with these (expensive) lovely eggs:

Image

The difference in taste between pasture raised eggs and regular eggs, or even organic cage-free/free range eggs is amazing. I had been getting sick of eggs for quite some time, but after switching back to pasture raised, I have had no problem eating them. It’s just a completely different, fuller flavor.

After “breakfast” (we didn’t actually wake up until around 12…), Mark and I took a walk around the Botanical Gardens to get a little exercise and enjoy the roses before the season ends. I’ve never been a huge fan of roses, but we saw some true beauties today, like this one:

Image

I’ve been feeling pretty full and not having a lot of hunger pangs since beginning the Whole 30, but after the gardens, I was famished. I had a grilled chicken salad, using the leftover chicken from Friday night. Organic mixed leaves, a small handful of walnuts, red onion, garlic, and vinegar/olive oil rounded out the salad. This is a typical salad for me, but missing one important thing: feta cheese. I’m not gonna lie – I missed it. A lot. I also had the leftover green beans from the other night as well.

We went over to Mark’s parents for dinner. They planned to barbecue chicken and turkey burgers with some veggies, so I figured I would be pretty safe food-wise. They did also serve baked potatoes, couscous, and ice cream for dessert, which were all hard to turn down, but I stuck with my turkey burger, chicken breast, and green beans. I also sipped on some jasmine tea while everyone else ate their ice cream. The food was delicious, but I’m still feeling pretty tempted by carbs at this point. I can’t wait to get past the cravings! I had some grapes when we got home, again to curb the sweet cravings, so that helped a little.

Right now, I’m just very happy that I’m over the headache and nausea – it was an awful feeling. The one thing that’s really bugging me is that I’m already getting bored with just water. I think part of the reason I even drank diet soda and wine with dinner was just to add some flavor to what I was drinking, so it’s difficult to just have plain old water all the time. I would kill for a glass of milk, at the very least. That will come with time, though!!

Leave a Reply

